Hair, topslider
Comments 14

Platinum Challenge

The Fashion Medley | Platinum ChallengeOk first of all I know that the hair above is beyond platinum but it was so freakin beautiful that I had to put it here. Second of all, I’ve never wanted to do anything with my hair more than I want to dye it platinum blonde right now. I hardly believe that it would work on me; a wheat skinned girl with black brows, high cheekbones and a big nose, most probably I’d look just as bad as I did last Halloween with the “Sandy” wig. But I still want to give it a try, so so bad. Two things holding me back: 1) the effort and money that will go into dyeing it every 2 weeks (I’m extremely lazy when it comes to hair) 2) my non-dyed silky hair will be ruined forever.

Have you tried it? Do you have any comments or recommendations? Should I give it a go?

The Fashion Medley | Platinum Challenge The Fashion Medley | Platinum Challenge

The Fashion Medley | Platinum Challenge The Fashion Medley | Platinum Challenge

The Fashion Medley | Platinum Challenge The Fashion Medley | Platinum Challenge

image sources: into the gloss, always judging, refinery29, beautyhigh, smallgirlblogging, w magazine, pinterest

14 Comments

  1. Saunna says

    Me too! I’m dying to get my hair dyed platinum but I’m Indian. I feel like il probably be pushing it with my complexion all wrong for it. Dark eyebrows can be dyed though.

  2. Don’t do it babe. Your hair is pretty much platinum anyways and your worries are totally correct: It really IS a hassle to go through the constant colouring and it will ruin your hair. I don’t think it’s worth it just to have it one nuance lighter. I’d die for your hair colour! xxx

  3. Honestly, I think it’d really suit you. It’s certainly a lot of work and maintenance- I’m going through the transition now too. It’s certainly a showstopper, and you do feel a lot more put together afterwards. I was a brunette beforehand and I definitely love having blonde locks!
    If you’re super worried about the damage, don’t do it in one sitting, do it over the span of say three months or so. So it gives your hair a chance to recover before you bleach it again. You can also use hair masques and treatments to reduce the damage too. Just make sure to go to a salon that has a good rapport with well experienced hair-dressers. You won’t regret it! I’m sure as hell not. xxx

    • eliffilyos says

      Wow really? I had just decided on not doing it (actually it comes and goes) but after your comment… Maybe… I want it so bad especially for winter!

      • It’s certainly an investment in time and money, but if you want to do it, then you should! It’s just hair after all, and it does grow back out. It’s a real show-stopper and you’d look gorgeous!

      • eliffilyos says

        I sort of have an unhealthy, obsessive and sentimental love-hate relationship with my hair which makes me admire your “it’s just hair afterall” attitude even more! I think first I have to arrange a budget then try to find a good colorist in Montreal, then decide if I should or should not get it. Thank you so much for the comment and support! 🙂

  4. LupeLab says

    As someone with dark brown/almost black hair and an olive complexion who has been dyed/bleached every shade under the sun….here are my thoughts. No hair color or bleaching is irreversible. Sure, the hair that is actually treated will never be virgin again. But that new growth coming in constantly is. If you choose to maintain the blonde, yes, you’ll be bleaching the roots as they come in. When you are tired of it and want to move on, an experienced hair stylist can start taking you back to your natural color and you can let your roots grow in virgin again with a minimal growout line. With regular cuts and trims, eventually you grow out and cut off all the evidence (and damage) of your blonde affair. I LOVED being platinum and it made the return to brunette that much more exciting. I liked the contrast of dark brows with the blonde and so chose to keep mine natural. It gave a sexy, 90’s Madonna vibe (and it’s not like I was fooling anyone that I was a natural blonde so why bother with the brows, I thought). The last thing to consider is the condition of your hair. Mine is thick and straight and takes a beating like no other. I’ve been seeing my stylist for 10 years and would not have moved forward if she had not agreed with me that my hair could take it. Stitchedstag is right, doing it over time can really help. Also, invest in really nourishing blonde-focused products. All that said, you need to decide what’s right for you. I know that feeling of wanting a look sooo bad. I’ve had 95% great experiences with these kinds of changes and at the end of the day, it’s just hair, have fun!

    • eliffilyos says

      Wow you guys are so bad supporting me on this, I wasn’t expecting such pro-arguments! I thought you would just talk me out of it and I’d feel more comfortable knowing it’s not an option anymore, now I HAVE TO HAVE IT!

      • Sorry! I’m just like this, my friends know if they want to do something bold or daring and they come to me, I will walk them up to the edge of the cliff and whisper “Jump!” I will rarely be the one to talk someone down, unless it seems like a really, really bad idea or I get the sense they aren’t ready. Of course, I just saw your post with the striped dress and I’m like “oohh, her dark hair looks stunning with that outfit.” New hair = new outfit inspirations. Fun!

      • eliffilyos says

        yeah same with red lipstick for example, I don’t think it would look just as good with the platinum hair on me as it does now, but with a blonde bob I can wear ALL BLACK ALL WINTER LONG oh my god even talking about it is exciting 🙂

  5. Blonde is the best feeling! Seriously, it will change your life. I think a blonde bob would suit you really well. Also, coconut oil. Works wonders as a treatment.

    • eliffilyos says

      Really you think so? I’m going to get a color consultation appointment tomorrow from the best hairdresser in MTL, if all goes well you may see me blonde in a few weeks!

Leave a Reply

