Make Up, topslider
Comment 1

C’est Mieux Au Naturel

vera wangIf there is one big plot twist in the movie that is make up & beauty, it’s how much effort it takes to establish the “all natural” look.

Believe me, if I wanted to put on make up as if I were to star and dance in a circus it would be much more easier than to achieve the perfect “my face looks like a baby’s ass and my eyes are like a gazelle’s whereas I have auto-blushing definitive cheekbones” look. Of course it’s not the case for freakishly beautiful people, Parisian woman and models (as witnessed by NY Times T magazine’s model morphosises – excuse me, what has changed exactly after make up?) but not everyone has the chance to look pretty rather than sick without any make up.

For the F/W 2014 collections, I realized that the natural make up trend – which has always been adopted by brands with more minimal or structured styles – started taking over the whole runway, even the most gaudy collections were toned down by natural beauty looks. It’s always there, which means it’s not and never a “trend”, but this year maybe the year we can actually embrace the “I look a little sick but infact I’m cool as hell” face. I have to do something about my undereyes though. Yeah.

 

TheRow

dolce gabbana

proenza schouler marni

image sources: vogue.uk, harper’s bazaar

1 Comment

  1. Looking close like this you really can see the effort that went into getting this to look so natural….as is the case in so many other parts of life: sports, art, music, writing, design. What looks so easy has actually taken a lot of work. Nice post. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

