Bridal
Comments 9

The Winter Bride

elegant winter bride happy winter bride winter bridal flowersOne of my favourite Friends episodes is the one where Phoebe gets married. Everything goes wrong and at the end they had to get married outside on the street, right in the middle of a blizzard and (even though it’s a TV show and it never really works that way in real life) it was one of the most romantic things I’ve ever seen.

I never actually dreamt about my wedding (or getting married for that matter) but the only thing I knew was that I would definitely get married in summer. I was never keen on the idea of having an indoor wedding, mainly  because the wedding venues in my hometown are beyond horrible, but also because I believed that it would be inconvenient in every possible way: the dress, the photos etc… And as much as I loved our outdoor party-more-than-a-wedding wedding, seeing these cosy photos made me think it wouldn’t be the worst thing to get married in winter. Actually it would be really great to get married in winter – as long as you can shoot beautiful photos outside and get married inside a beautiful barn or something. Even if you freeze your ass off, as Phoebe calls it, you can be your own something blue. And I don’t know why I didn’t think of this sooner but, if you get married in winter, you can actually wear a sweater over your dress! You can wear boots under your dress! If not, even the simplest winter gowns are always, ALWAYS more elegant than summer dresses. Not to mention any kind of embellishment and sequin would be totally acceptable for holiday season (hi there Elie Saab). I don’t think it gets better than that…

[metaslider id=21393]

runway winter bridal

 

coolest winter bride

 

winter bride fur

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

image sources: pinterest, style.com

9 Comments

  1. Many times I’ve seen winter wedding gowns with white fur trim and I think those are so pretty. But as far as getting married outside, I would much rather get married in a place that has a lot of windows. Just LIKE being outside, but not having to deal with the elements. One less thing to fret over on the big day.

    • eliffilyos says

      I’d prefer a really cosy barn where you can adorn with string lights so you wouldn’t even think about outside! (in Turkey our wedding ceremonies usually happen in the evening so light is not a big issue as long as the venue is lovely – which they are not.)

Leave a Reply

