Celebrities, Red Carpet
Comments 8

70th Golden Globes: Best & Worst Dressed

julianne moore tom ford2naomi watts zac posentaylor swift donna karanIn honour of this being the first time I’m in a continent where I can watch award shows at a reasonable hour, I feel obligated to do a red carpet review post before I go to bed – especially for my Turkish readers who most probably couldn’t stay up so late to watch the ceremony. I also felt the same obligation about tweeting so if you want to check out you can follow me at @fashionmedley.

First of all I have to indicate that I’m getting more and more bored of the red carpet every year. Especially the amount of nudes, fishtail gowns and strapless dresses literally make me nauseous. I’m filled with same joy about wedding dresses too, but we’ll get to that later. Lately I am obssesed with long sleeved gowns (I also wore one to my cousin’s engagement party but unfortunately there aren’t any good photos of me) their old hollywood glamour and hidden sexiness is so elegant I want to cry. Therefore its no surprise that my favourites of the night are Julianne Moore in Tom Ford (which is custom made of course) (resemblance between this and the dress she wore in A Single Man, whoa) and Naomi Watts in a perfect wine coloured Zac Posen (which I can declare that is my favourite Zac Posen of all time!)

Speaking for wine and looking elegant, I have to make a confession. I never thought that I would say this one day but Taylor Swift looked breathtakingly beautiful in her maroon Donna Karan dress with thin stripes and a spectacular back cleavage. Her existance still bothers me but that doesn’t change the fact that she nailed it this time.

One of the ladies who opted for a daring cleavage was Katharine McPhee in Theyskens Theory and she was perfect! I salute her for her brave choice of brand, amazing choice of hair & make up and forgive for the not so great shoes. The other one is Girls star Allison Williams in J Mendel who looks rad as well.

70th Annual Golden Globe Awards - Arrivals

Award winning Claire Danes wore a red hot Atelier Versace with a slightly messed up eye make up, and not one award winning in years Zooey Deschanel looks so not hot in her red Oscar De La Renta piece. Neither her acting nor her style (or her mani) is doing anything for me. Maybe I can give her some points for the ponytail but thats it.

70th Annual Golden Globe Awards - Arrivals

While we’re at red gowns; an (also) award winning very sweet Jennifer Lawrence wore a Dior Couture strapless gown (and spilled that she actually doesn’t know what haute means) which looks very red carpet appropriate. Marion Cotillard on the other hand; wore another Dior dress that looks like an altered ready to wear version of Jennifer Lawrence’s and looked like she wanted to kill Jessica Chastain when she won the best actress award. Not a good day for Marion, Dior-wise and award-wise.

marion cotillard dior

One of the most talked about women of the night was Jessica Chastain, who absolutely looked like a fairytale mermaid with her gorgeous hair & make up and a fantastic shade of baby blue (Calvin Klein). Though I would have to say that I found the waistline of that dress a little lower than it should be – or the drapery a little bit more than it should be because it made her breasts look saggy. Other than that she was perfection. So was Nicole Richie – whom I don’t know why was at Golden Globes but still – in an amazing Naeem Khan. Blue powder, blue power.

70th Annual Golden Globe Awards - Arrivals nicole richie2

Before talking about the hideously safe black dresses, I have to mention Kristin Wiig who took a risk and chose a very simple yet very daring Michael Kors and she looks stunning. And by the way she and Will Ferrell hosted probably the most hilarious award presentation I’ve ever seen in my life. I really love this woman.

B

The Angelina Jolies or this award night were Eva Longoria in Pucci and Rosie Huntington Whiteley in Saint Laurent Paris – both of whom do not impress me that much. We can talk to some guys though, they might feel differently about this situation. The safe swimmers in black sea was Sarah Hyland in Max Azria, Sophia Vergara in nobody understood the designer’s name, Salma Hayek in I really don’t care with all strapless gowns. Rachel Weisz (Louis Vuitton) may be considered cute at a coctail party but for Golden Globes, nay.

eva longoria pucci sofia vergararachel weisz louis vuitton

Now lets talk about the two McQueen babes – who people loved in general whereas I don’t, so much. Nicole Kidman‘s awkward hair kills my mood and that horrible belt detail on Kate Hudson‘s dress, seriously what the f is that?! If it had been a simple metal bar belt or even nothing at all, I would have loved it.

kate hudson in mcqueenFavourite white swan of the night was Amanda Seyfried in Givenchy (how shocked are you that I liked a Givenchy gown) with runner up Les Miserables co-star Anne Hathaway in a 2 piece Chanel. While we are at it, hers and Sienna Miller’s 2 piece outfits are noted. After jumpsuits, can 2 pieces make a statement for several award seasons? We’ll wait and see… Hayden Panettiere in Cavalli, Amy Adams in “ballet pink” Marchesa and Francesca Eastwood are other artist who followed the nude trend.

amanda seyfried givenchy 70th Annual Golden Globe Awards - Arrivals 70th Annual Golden Globe Awards - ArrivalsThe magnificence of white and gold reincarnated in Julianne Hough’s Monique Lhuillier and Michelle Dockery’s Alexander Vauthier gowns (we are hearing this name a lot recently). And my award for the most boring outfit of the night goes to Megan Fox and her super dull Dolce & Gabbana frock. As for Sienna Miller all I can say is – I get the sense, I don’t get the style. As pretty as that Erdem is, I don’t think it suits Sienna or the red carpet. Maybe Michelle Williams could pull of something like that.

julhugh 70th Annual Golden Globe Awards - Arrivals

A pregnant Kristen Bell in Jenny Packham looks lovely in her sparkles just like an over tanned Lea Michelle in Elie Saab. But to be fair the only Elie Saab that I didn’t like in the history of red carpet fashion was last year on Bérénice Beho. You know I have a special thing to Elie. And one final word about white & sparkly gowns (copied directly from my twitter account): Kerry Washington (Miu Miu) and Jennifer Lopez (Zuhair Murad) stands on different sides of that thin line between drag queen & sparkly chic.

70th Annual Golden Globe Awards - Arrivalsjennifer lopez zuhair muradOther OKs of the night were Emily Blunt in Michael Kors (ok she was more than OK), Jennifer Garner in Vivienne Westwood, Jessica Alba in coral Oscar de la Renta, Jodie Foster (who gave a great speech btw) and Olivia Munn in Georgio Armani (oh hi there blue sequins, we know your daddy is Georgio already). The hosts Tina Fey and Amy Poehler also looked lovely in all their outfits tonight.

emily blunt michael kors 70th Annual Golden Globe Awards - Arrivals jodie foster 70th Annual Golden Globe Awards - Arrivals

Drumroll…. The worst dressed of the night OBVIOUSLY and WITHOUT A DOUBT was Halle Berry in a horrible horrible Versace dress with the worst possible print. I have nothing decent to say about that heck of a thing so there, you can see it for yourself. Lucy Liu was pretty bad also (Carolina Herrera) but at least I give her the thumbs up for coming with something different. As much as I love her (and her tattoos) Lena Dunham looked disturbingly uncomfortable in her Zac Posen dress and a much botoxed Debra Messing didn’t look her best in Donna Karan Resort either. (And for the ones who haven’t read all the paragraphs above I added J.Lo and Zooey Deschanel to my worst dressed list as well.)

70th Annual Golden Globe Awards - Arrivals70th Annual Golden Globe Awards - Arrivals

image sources: justjared, fashionista

8 Comments

  1. I often wonder when stars have access to fabulous designers and stylists at their fingertips, why do they choose such unflattering dresses?

    • Same question here, its unbelieavable. And they have stylists, publicists… I think its because some have too many options and poor sense of style.

  2. yea, I saw Zooey in another blog and was really turned off by her ugly nail polish… couldn’t believe it. What a waste of Oscar de la Renta… she should’ve saved the pearls for a sweater or a cardigan.

    what a disappointment

    Stylejourneys

  3. I totally agree about Julianne Moore and Naomi Watts, they both were lovely. I kinda liked Lucy Liu actually, the dress was completely out of my taste but as you said at least she came up with something different and new. I agree, Kate Hudson’s belt was kind of Balkan traditional costume’s inspired and didnt suit at all that lovely dress of her. Nicole Kidman though started to look like Michael Jackson lately O.o plastic surgery addicted or what 😦

  4. Pingback: All The Pretty Clothes-Horses « Petchary's Blog

Leave a Reply

